“Both you and the message recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for the message to be successfully deleted,” WhatsApp said. WhatsApp was working on this feature for almost a year. You can now delete messages for everyone or just for yourself. “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” WhatsApp said in its FAQ.
Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. WhatsApp has over 200 million monthly active users in India and 1.2 billion users worldwide.