Seat-sharing main hurdle for each NDA, Grand Alliance as caste issues, reluctant leaders gradual decision-making

During the primary week of January, leaders of each NDA and the Grand Alliance declared that seat-sharing for the...

· 2 min read >
Seat-sharing major hurdle for both NDA, Grand Alliance as caste considerations, reluctant leaders slow decision-making

During the primary week of January, leaders of each NDA and the Grand Alliance declared that seat-sharing for the Lok Sabha polls will change into clear solely after the competition of Makar Sankranti (14 January), which marks the start of spring and is taken into account auspicious. Almost two months later, the battle traces in Bihar are nonetheless hazy.

Tejashwi Yadav with Mukesh Sahni and Upendra Kushwaha. PTI

“All is effectively. Laluji (Prasad Yadav) will take the ultimate name on candidates and alliances,” remarked RJD MP Manoj Jha.

Meanwhile, KC Tyagi, nationwide spokesperson of JDU, gave a brand new deadline on Monday. “It will be announced before Holi (21 March),” he mentioned stressing that settlement between JDU, BJP and LJP has virtually been finalised.

Caste issues and leaders refusal to shift constituencies have slowed down each the alliances in Bihar. The Darbhanga parliamentary seat seems to create hurdles for each alliances.

In the Grand Alliance, Congress is demanding the constituency for cricketer-turned-politician Kirti Azad who give up BJP to affix Congress, whereas, RJD needs to discipline Mukesh Sahani, a former NDA-member who joined the Grand Alliance in Bihar. Sahani has christened himself because the son of a Mallah, a fishermen neighborhood.

“We have pleaded to the Congress that they should shift Azad to Delhi,” remarked an RJD chief.

In the NDA camp, JDU is demanding the identical seat for Nitish’s shut confidant Sanjay Jha.

Darbhanga is the centre of Mithilanchal and in addition consists of Madhubani and Jhanjharpur parliamentary seats. BJP had gained all three seats within the 2014 Lok Sabha election.

“In Mithilanchal, the combination of Maithil Brahmins, Yadavs and Extremely Backward Caste is a winnable combination, and we field candidates, accordingly. If we give it to JDU then our party will not be able to field a Maithil Brahmin,” remarked a senior BJP chief mentioning that Nitish Mishra, son of former chief minister Jagannath Mishra was being thought-about for Madhubani.

Nawada parliamentary seat is one other constituency, which is creating issues for the NDA. Since JD(U) is contesting from the Munger seat, which was gained over by LJP in 2014, the LJP is demanding Nawada parliamentary seat, which is at the moment represented by BJP hardliner face and Union minister Giriraj Singh. LJP is insisting that Giriraj be shifted to the Begusarai parliamentary seat. Giriraj, nevertheless, is reluctant. The offended Union minister even refused to come back to Gandhi Maidan on 3 March to take part within the BJP’s Sankalp Rally regardless of being in Patna.

Nitish Kumar, Amit Shah and Ram Vilas Paswan. PTI

Nitish Kumar, Amit Shah and Ram Vilas Paswan. PTI

BJP is reportedly additionally in a dilemma over its Dalit MPs. JD(U) has been asking for Gopalganj reserved seat the place the current BJP MP Janak Chamar gained by a margin of over Three lakh. It can be pondering over changing its present Gaya MP Hari Manjhi and Sasaram MP Chhedi Paswan.

“We have to consider replacement without facing a backlash from the Dalits,” remarked the senior BJP chief.

Meanwhile, the BJP is asking LJP to forgo the Khagaria seat in order that the saffron celebration can discipline a former JD(U) minister Samrath Choudhary. The LJP has agreed however is asking for an additional Lok Sabha seat as an alternative. The BJP, due to this fact, is hard-pressed to search out an alternate seat.

RJD doesn’t have a candidate for Patna Saheb. It is ready for sitting MP Shatrughan Sinha to determine if he needs to contest on a Congress or RJD ticket. The BJP, which considers this seat as a citadel, faces the duty to selected between a number of candidates together with Union minister Ravishankar Prasad and RK Sinha.

Interestingly, the grand alliance is but to determine the variety of seats every associate is to contest with Congress stressing that 15 seats every ought to go to RJD and Congress and the remainder ought to be divided among the many allies. The grand alliance is predicted to take a ultimate name by 13 March in Delhi the place leaders of all alliance companions are to take a seat and thrash out the variations.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the newest evaluation, commentary and information updates, join our WhatsApp companies. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Source link

Facebook Comments