No former prime ministers to be current in Parliament in upcoming Budget Session

New Delhi: As Manmohan Singh’s almost 30-year-long tenure as a Rajya Sabha member ended on Friday and HD Deve Gowda misplaced from Tumkur seat within the not too long ago concluded Lok Sabha elections, no former prime minister can be current within the forthcoming Budget session of the Parliament.

Parliament’s first Budget session after the structure of the brand new authorities at Centre is scheduled to begin on 17 June.

Deve Gowda, who served because the 11th Prime Minister of India from June 1996 to April 1997, misplaced to BJP’s GS Basavaraj from Tumkur Lok Sabha constituency by little over 13,000 votes.

File picture of Manmohan Singh. PTI

Earlier, Deve Gowda used to often contest from Hassan parliamentary constituency. However, he had vacated his seat to area his grandson Prajwal Revanna from there.

Soon after the Lok Sabha outcomes have been introduced on 23 May, Revanna, who defeated BJP’s A Manju from Hassan by a margin of 1.41 lakh votes, provided to resign from the seat to get his grandfather re-elected.

“To reinstate the confidence of JD(S) cadre, we have to fill the gap left by the defeat of HD Deve Gowda. Therefore, I have decided to tender my resignation. I want him to be victorious once again from Hassan,” stated Prajwal, who was the one JD(S) candidate to have the ability to win his seat in Karnataka.

After his loss, Deve Gowda stated, “As a former prime minister, I have been defeated twice. This is not a big issue. My concern is how to save a regional party. I will see that JD(S) strengthens its base. I will take responsibility and proceed forward. I am not going to blame anybody for the loss. How it happened is not to be discussed in media.”

BJP dominated out JD(S)-Congress alliance in Karnataka by successful 25 out of 28 seats. The Congress and the JD(S) acquired one seat every, whereas one seat went to an impartial candidate.

Similar to its efficiency within the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress occasion did not carry out properly in 2019 normal election too and solely managed to win on 52 seats.

Due to Congress’ poor efficiency, Manmohan Singh, who was the Prime Minister of India from 2004 to 2014, can be missed within the upcoming Budget session of the Parliament as his almost 30-year-long tenure as a Rajya Sabha member ended on Friday.

Singh wouldn’t be current within the Rajya Sabha for the primary time since his first election from Assam in 1991 as he couldn’t make as much as the Parliament’ higher House resulting from Congress’ poor energy within the state Assembly.

The Congress occasion couldn’t get him re-elected from Assam because it has solely 25 MLAs as in opposition to 43 first-preference votes wanted. The occasion even can not ship Singh from different states the place Rajya Sabha seats are vacant. With the election of BJP’s Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and AGP’s Birender Prasad Baishya’s unopposed election from Assam, a complete of 9 seats are mendacity vacant in Odisha (4), Tamil Nadu (1), Bihar (2) and Gujarat (2).

Congress doesn’t have required numbers to safe any Rajya Sabha berths in these states besides Gujarat the place it’s eyeing to seize a minimum of one seat. Although Singh might be despatched to the House from Karnataka, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan or Punjab, there aren’t any instant vacancies in these states.

During his tenure as Rajya Sabha MP, Singh led the higher House for 10 years from 2004 to 2014 and acted because the Leader of the Opposition for six years. Singh was final elected to the House in 2013.

<!– Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the newest evaluation, commentary and information updates, join our WhatsApp companies. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.


Your information to the newest cricket World Cup tales, evaluation, stories, opinions, reside updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook web page for updates all through the continued occasion in England and Wales.

Source link