National Film Awards 2018: Ram Nath Kovind to present only select honours; 60 winners to boycott ceremony

Over 60 winners of the Nationwide Movie Awards have mentioned that they will skip the ceremony on Thursday night after a final minute announcement that President Ram Nath Kovind can be presenting solely 11 awards, a departure from custom.

Controversy erupted over the 65th Nationwide Movie Awards only a day earlier than the ceremony after the awardees have been instructed that not all of them can be receiving the awards by Kovind. This led to calls of boycott by a number of the awardees and has put Thursday’s ceremony underneath a shadow.

Mumbai Mirror reported that the awardees have been knowledgeable of this improvement on Wednesday on the gown rehearsal for the ceremony. They have been instructed that solely 11 awards can be introduced by Kovind whereas the remaining can be handed over by Union Minister of Data and Broadcasting (I&B) Smriti Irani, Minister of State, I&B Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, and the I&B ministry’s secretary Narendra Kumar Sinha. The President will arrive after a lot of the awards have been handed out, will current 11 awards, after which can have a photo-op with the winners in teams of 45.

This information agitated a few of awardees which resulted in Irani dashing to the rehearsal venue and attempting to placate the awardees, reported The Asian Age. “She instructed us she had supplied to chop down on her speech so all might be awarded by the President throughout the time he had given for the operate,” the awardees mentioned to The Asian Age. The awardees insisted that they weren’t belittling the ministers however have been sad concerning the division in ceremonies. They felt that both all awards needs to be handed out by the President or none in any respect.

These sad with the event additionally wrote a letter to the Directorate of Movie Festivals saying that in case their grievance was not addressed, they’d be not be attending the ceremony. Of their letter, the artistes mentioned they have been knowledgeable concerning the change within the schedule on Wednesday. They mentioned they have been disheartened and “felt dejected slightly than honoured” on being knowledgeable on the final minute that the president will current solely 11 awards.

The signatories embody famous singer KJ Yesudas, named this 12 months’s finest playback singer, Bengali filmmaker Kaushik Ganguly, whose movie “Nagarkirtan” has been named the most effective Bengali movie and finest supporting actor winner Fahadh Faasil.

Historically, all of the Nationwide Movie Awards are given out by the President. This custom was adopted in 2017 as properly with then-president Pranab Mukherjee giving out all of the awards personally. Nonetheless, Kovind in his presidency, has adopted the rule of not allotting multiple hour for any award ceremony. This was reiterated by his press secretary Ashok Malik who instructed The Print that, “In all of the award ceremonies he has attended, he provides away main awards and takes pictures with all awardees. That has been the usual observe, which has been conveyed to the organisers properly upfront.”

A number of the agitators instructed The Print that they’re contemplating skipping the ceremony. Nonetheless, they clarified that this doesn’t imply that they’re refusing the award.

The winners of the 65th Nationwide Movie Awards have been declared on 13 April by the jury headed by director Shekhar Kapur and a panel comprising screenwriter Imtiaz Hussain, lyricist Mehboob, South Indian actress Gautami Tadimalla, Kannada director P Sheshadri, Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury, Ranjit Das, Rajesh Mapuskar, Tripurari Sharma and Rumi Jaffrey. The full list of winners contains Vinod Khanna, Sridevi, AR Rahman and Riddhi Sen amongst others.

With inputs by PTI

<!– Revealed Date: Could 03, 2018 09:48 AM
| Up to date Date: Could 03, 2018 14:19 PM


Up to date Date: Could 03, 2018 14:19 PM

fbq('init', '482038382136514');
fbq('monitor', 'PageView');

(operate(d, s, id) {
    var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
    if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
    js = d.createElement(s); = id;
    js.src = "http://join.fb.internet/en_GB/sdk.js#xfbml=1&amp;model=v2.9&amp;appId=1117108234997285";
    fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(doc, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));


Facebook Comments