Lok Sabha election 2019: 76.44% turnout in West Bengal regardless of incidents of violence; Congress employee stabbed in Odisha

A polling share of round 66 p.c was reported until 5 pm in Odisha, the place the fourth and ultimate section of Lok Sabha election was held on Monday. Six constituencies – Mayurbhanj, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara and Jagatsinghpur – voted within the state.

In West Bengal, eight Lok Sabha constituencies noticed a voter turnout of 76.44 p.c. The constituencies that went to ballot are Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat (SC), Burdwan East (SC), Burdwan-Durgapur, Asansol, Bolpur (SC) and Birbhum.

Bhadrak recorded the very best voter turnout at 68 per cent until 5 pm, adopted by Mayurbhanj at 66 per cent, each Jajpur and Kendrapara at 65 per cent and Jagatsinghpur and Balasore at 64 per cent.

Representational picture. PTI

According to a senior police officer, unprecedented violence was reported from a number of locations of the six parliamentary seats. A Congress employee was stabbed to demise in Balikuda-Erasama Assembly section of Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat, whereas he was getting back from a polling sales space having forged his vote. Three polling personnel in Jajpur have been suspended for violation of norms in Odisha.

The deceased, Lachman Behera, had lately give up the BJD to affix the Congress. “Behera was attacked with a broken bottle by unknown miscreants. He died on his way to hospital,” Additional Superintendent of Police BP Mishra mentioned, including that an investigation is being carried out into the incident.

Clashes between the supporters of the ruling BJD and the BJP have been reported from Jajpur Kendrapara and Balasore.

Altogether 52 contestants, together with 12 girls, contested from the six Lok Sabha seats. Prominent amongst these within the fray are BJP nationwide vice-president Baijayant Panda and Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee president Niranjan Patnaik.

An FIR was lodged towards Babul Supriyo, Union minister and BJP candidate for Asansol, following a directive by the Election Commission over coming into a polling station at Barabani. According to stories, Supriyo had an argument with polling officers inside a polling station in Asansol following which TMC staff attacked his automobile parked outdoors. Though the rear windshield of his automobile was smashed the singer-politician was unhurt.

The state’s Chief Electoral Officer Ariz Aftab, nevertheless, claimed that barring “sporadic incidents”, the polling was, by and enormous, “peaceful”.

State’s Additional Director General of police (Law and order) Siddhi Nath Gupta mentioned, six FIRs have been lodged throughout the day over incidents of violence and 145 folks arrested. Gupta mentioned 5 folks have been injured in clashes between staff of rival political events. All of them have been present process therapy.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee alleged central forces opened hearth inside a polling sales space in Birbhum.
She claimed the BJP had “misused” the central forces to rig the elections. The EC show-caused the Birbhum BJP candidate Dudh Kumar Mondal after he was seen speaking over a cell phone inside a polling sales space simply earlier than casting his vote.

There have been clashes between supporters of rival TMC and BJP at Nanoor, Rampurhat, Nalhati and Suri areas of Birbhum constituency through which a number of folks have been injured. In Dubrajpur space of the constituency, safety personnel fired within the air to regulate a mob which allegedly scuffled with personnel of the central forces once they have been barred from coming into the cubicles with cellphones. Following this, polling was stalled in these cubicles, the official mentioned.

At Hanskhali in Ranaghat constituency, a girl voter was critically injured in a bomb explosion outdoors a polling station throughout a conflict between staff of rival events, Nadia district election officer Sumit Gupta mentioned. Accusing the TMC of rigging the polls in virtually each sales space, BJP’s Krishnanagar candidate Kalyan Chaubey mentioned voters in a number of areas weren’t allowed to forged their ballots.

– With inputs from PTI

<!– Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the most recent evaluation, commentary and information updates, join our WhatsApp companies. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Your information to the most recent election information, evaluation, commentary, reside updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook web page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming common elections.


Source link

Facebook Comments
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time