Karnataka bypolls: 35 p.c voting recorded until 1 pm for elections to three Lok Sabha, 2 Meeting constituencies

Bengaluru: About 35 p.c voting was recorded on Saturday throughout the first half of polling for the bypolls to...

· 1 min read >
Karnataka bypolls: 35 percent voting recorded till 1 pm for elections to 3 Lok Sabha, 2 Assembly constituencies

Bengaluru: About 35 p.c voting was recorded on Saturday throughout the first half of polling for the bypolls to 3 Lok Sabha and two Meeting constituencies in Karnataka.

Whereas the Lok Sabha constituencies of Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya have recorded 30.20, 35.72, 26.80 p.c voting, respectively, until 1 pm, the Meeting segments of Ramanagara and Jamkhandi reported 39.81 and 43.50 p.c respectively.

Voting started at 7 am will go on until six within the night.

A complete of 54,54,275 voters are eligible to train their franchise in about 6,450 polling stations.

There are 31 candidates within the fray within the 5 constituencies, although the competition is especially between the Congress-JD(S) mix and the BJP.

Counting of votes will likely be held on 6 November.

Although the turnout was low throughout the preliminary few hours after polling started, it improved because the day progressed, officers stated.

Representational picture. AFP

Barring experiences about delay in voting attributable to technical points at a few locations, polling in all of the 5 constituencies have been by and enormous peaceable thus far, the officers stated.

The by-elections are being seen as a litmus take a look at for the ruling Congress-JD(S) coalition as its end result is predicted to have a bearing on the state’s political situation.

The Congress and the JD(S), who got here collectively in a post-poll alliance after the Meeting elections in Might threw up a hung Home, have determined to face the polls unitedly towards the BJP, which they understand as their frequent rival.

Whereas the Congress has fielded its candidates in Jamkhandi and Ballari, JD(S) is contesting in Shivamogga, Ramanagara and Mandya beneath an electoral understanding.

Among the many distinguished candidates within the fray is Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’s spouse Anita Kumaraswamy, who is predicted to have a clean sail as she is dealing with nearly no contest in Ramanagara after BJP nominee L Chandrashekhar withdrew from the competition and rejoined the Congress, in a jolt days earlier than the polls.

The BJP had lodged a criticism with the Election Fee concerning the growth in Ramanagara and requested it to “annul” the elections instantly.

In Jamkhandi, Congress candidate Anand Nyamagowda, son of former MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, is pitted towards Srikant Kulkarni of the BJP.

State BJP chief B S Yeddyurappa’s son BY Raghavendra is testing his fortunes in Shivamogga towards one other former chief minister S Bangarappa’s son Madhu Bangarappa of the JD(S).

Yeddyurappa and his members of the family have been among the many early birds to forged their vote at Shikaripura within the constituency.

In Ballari, senior BJP chief Sriramulu’s sister J Shantha is contesting towards VS Ugrappa of the Congress, thought of an outsider.

Within the Vokkaliga belt of Mandya, JD(S)’s Shivarame Gowda, is pitted towards a contemporary face in Dr Siddaramaiah, a retired industrial tax officer from the BJP.

The by-elections have been necessitated after Yeddyurappa (Shivamogga), Sriramalu (Ballari) and CS Puttaraju of JD(S) (Mandya) resigned as MPs on their election to the Meeting in Might this yr.

Bypolls to Jamkhandi meeting seat was attributable to the loss of life of Congress MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, whereas Ramanagara fell vacant after Kumaraswamy gave up the seat preferring to retain Chennapatna, the opposite constituency from the place received.

Source link

Facebook Comments