IPL 2019, DC vs KXIP: Punjab captain Ravichandran Ashwin fined for gradual over-rate towards Delhi

Kings XI Punjab captain Ravichandran Ashwin has been fined Rs 12 lakh for sustaining a slow-over charge throughout the Indian Premier League match towards Delhi Capitals on the Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium.

“As it was his team’s first offence of the season under the IPL’s Code of Conduct relating to minimum over-rate offences, Mr. Ashwin was fined Rs 12 lakh,” learn an IPL assertion.

File picture of Ravichandran Ashwin. Sportzpics

Ashwin is the fourth captain to be fined for gradual over-rate within the ongoing season of the IPL after Mumbai Indian’s Rohit Sharma, Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Virat Kohli and Rajasthan Royals’ recently-sacked skipper Ajinkya Rahane.

Kings XI Punjab misplaced to Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets on Saturday evening on the Feroz Shah Kotla floor.

After being put into bat by Shreyas Iyer, KXIP received off to a nasty begin shedding KL Rahul within the 2nd over. But then Chris Gayle picked up the scoring earlier than KXIP began shedding wickets at common intervals. The West Indies batsman made 69 off 37 balls however the center order faltered.

It took a late surge from captain Ravichandran Ashwin (16 off 14) and Harpreet Brar (20 off 12) to assist KXIP publish a good 163.

In response, DC received off to the same begin as KXIP, shedding Prithvi Shaw early, within the fourth over. However, Shikhar Dhawan took the middle stage and hit 56 off 41 balls, including 92 for the second wicket with captain Shreyas Iyer to take the match away from KXIP. Punjab did put up a battle however Iyer made certain he stayed until the tip and end the sport off within the final over.

With inputs from PTI

For all the latest news, opinions and analysis from IPL 2019, click here

For the full schedule, date, time and venue of all the matches of IPL 12, click here

Check out the full points table for IPL 2019, including holders of Orange and Purple Caps


Published Date: April 21, 2019

| Updated Date: April 21, 2019


Updated Date: Apr 21, 2019 12:46:25 IST