Indian hockey team coach Harendra Singh urges players to prove their mettle in final national camp ahead of World Cup

New Delhi: The Asian Champions Trophy was a super preparation for the World Cup and the India camp would be the final likelihood for the probables to show their mettle earlier than the squad is finalised, mentioned coach Harendra Singh.

File picture of Harendra Singh. Picture Courtesy: Hockey India

Hockey India on Wednesday named a 34-member core group for the ultimate nationwide camp earlier than the season-ending males’s World Cup, to be held in Bhubaneswar from 28 November to 16 December.

The 23-day camp will start on Thursday on the Kalinga Stadium and the 34 campers will report back to chief coach Harendra.

The camp will give Harendra the possibility to work with the core group and choose his ultimate 18-member squad.

“Our marketing campaign on the fifth Males’s Hero Asian Champions Trophy Muscat 2018 served pretty much as good preparation for the crew earlier than the World Cup, however now could be essentially the most important time for us as we glance to reinvigorate our spirits and work on the areas which want enchancment,” Harendra mentioned.

“The camp will give all of the 34 core group gamers the possibility to work exhausting and present what edge they will present to the crew,” he mentioned.

“It’s now time for all of the core group gamers to step up and present what they will carry to the desk.”

Having returned joint winners together with Pakistan from the recently-concluded Asian Champions Trophy in Muscat, the crew will bear intense coaching classes beneath Harendra.

The 34-member core group contains three goalkeepers — PR Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera and Krishan Pathak whereas defenders Harmanpreet Singh, Gurinder Singh, Varun Kumar, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Jarmanpreet Singh, Pardeep Singh, Suman Beck and captain of the junior males’s crew for the Sultan of Johor Cup 2018, Mandeep Mor, have been referred to as up for the camp.

Amongst midfielders, Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Sumit, Simranjeet Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Hardik Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Yashdeep Siwach and Vishal Antil have all been chosen.

Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mandeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Sumit Kumar, Gursahibjit Singh and Shilanand Lakra will battle it out for slots within the ahead line.

Ace striker Ramandeep Singh, who underwent a knee surgical procedure after sustaining an damage throughout the FIH Champions Trophy earlier this yr, together with seasoned defenders Rupinder Pal Singh and Birendra Lakra, have additionally been included within the camp.

Skilled ahead SV Sunil, who suffered a ligament damage on his left knee within the final camp, have additionally been included however it’s not but clear whether or not he has absolutely recovered from the ailment.

    fbq('init', '482038382136514');
    fbq('monitor', 'PageView');

(operate(d, s, id) {
    var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
    if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
    js = d.createElement(s); = id;
    js.src = "http://join.fb.web/en_GB/sdk.js#xfbml=1&model=v2.9&appId=1117108234997285";
    fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(doc, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));


Facebook Comments