ICC Cricket World Cup 2019: Steve Smith, David Warner to return; Peter Handscomb misses out as Australia announce 15-member squad

Steve Smith and David Warner will return to the worldwide fold as defending champions Australia introduced their 15-man World Cup squad early this morning (15 April). The duo was a part of Australia’s victorious marketing campaign in 2015, and was all however sure to characteristic within the 2019 version till they received embroiled within the notorious Sandpapergate in South Africa final 12 months. Their choice means they might play their first worldwide match since that ill-fated Cape Town Test on 1 June when Australia tackle Afghanistan in Bristol of their World Cup opener.

File picture of Steve Smith and David Warner. Reuters

Having served their resultant one-year bans, Warner and Smith try to get again within the groove on the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL). While Warner has been in scorching type for Sunrisers Hyderabad, Smith continues to be feeling his technique to type at Rajasthan Royals. The top-order pair can even return to the Cricket Australia central contract record for 2019-2020.

Their inclusion, although, signifies that Peter Handscomb, surprisingly, misses out on a World Cup berth. A top-order batsman who may double up as a back-up wicketkeeper, Handscomb’s good latest type had made him a robust contender within the Australia line-up. Handscomb has performed every of Australia’s final 13 matches, making a century and three half-centuries, averaging 43.54 and boasting of a strike price of 98.15. His 117-run innings in Mohali was pivotal in Australia chasing down 359 towards India, their highest chase in ODI historical past.

Another notable absentee is quick bowler Josh Hazlewood, who has been sidelined with a again damage since January. Mitchell Starc, who has not featured in any of Australia’s final 13 ODIs, will lead their tempo assault. Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jason Behrendorff full the five-men tempo assault.

Chairman of selectors Trevor Hohns stated Starc and Richardson have been chosen topic to health. Squads might be modified till 23 May with out ICC permission.

“Given the depth of talent and competition for spots there were a number of tough calls we had to make to settle on our squad of 15,” Hohns said. “Unfortunately, from the recent squad which toured India and the UAE, Peter Handscomb, Ashton Turner and Kane Richardson have made way for the above inclusions, but all three have been included in Australia A squad for the tour of England.”

Alex Carey is the only real wicketkeeper within the squad, whereas leg-spinner Adam Zampa and off-spinner Nathan Lyon are the 2 spinners within the squad.

Squad: Aaron Finch (capt), David Warner, Steve Smith, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa, Nathan Lyon


Published Date: April 15, 2019

| Updated Date: April 15, 2019


Updated Date: Apr 15, 2019 10:31:01 IST


Facebook Comments
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time