From Sachin Pilot’s win in Rajasthan to Lal Thanhwala’s defeat in Mizoram, key wins and losses within the state Meeting polls

As counting for the 2018 Meeting elections in Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh drew to an in depth on Tuesday, the Bharatiya Janata Celebration (BJP) noticed important losses throughout the board. The Rahul Gandhi-led Congress received in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, whereas the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) swept Telangana, and the Mizo Nationwide Entrance (MNF) received in Mizoram.

After fierce campaigning in all 5 states, here’s a take a look at the important thing winners and losers in every state:

Representational picture. PTI

Madhya Pradesh

Three-time chief minister and BJP chief Shivraj Singh Chouhan received within the state polls from Budhni constituency with a margin of almost 59,000 votes. Nevertheless, regardless of his win, the BJP was unable to win enough seats within the state to type the federal government.

Following this, Chouhan tendered his resignation to Madhya Pradesh governor Anandiben Patel, and mentioned “Ab mein mukt hoon (I’m now free). I’ve tendered my resignation to the honourable Governor. The accountability of defeat is completely mine. I’ve congratulated Kamal Nath ji.”

Alongside Chouhan, one other minister who received within the state is state Sports activities Minister and senior BJP chief Yashodhara Raje Scindia. She was in a position to safe 63,271 votes, whereas her opponent, Congress’ Siddharth Ladha, acquired 35,933 votes. Scindia is the aunt of Congress chief Jyotiraditya Scindia and the sister of Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje.

Senior Congress chief and former chief minister Digvijay Singh’s son Jaivardhan Singh additionally received from his conventional Raghogarh seat by 46,697 votes, towards BJP’s Bhupendra Raghuwanshi.

By way of key losses, Opposition chief within the Madhya Pradesh Meeting Ajay Singh misplaced from his conventional Churhat seat for the primary time within the Meeting polls. Singh, son of former Union minister and Congress stalwart late Arjun Singh, misplaced to Shardendu Tiwari of the BJP by 6,402 votes, Sidhi district’s electoral officer Dilip Kumar mentioned.

State minister Archana Chitnis misplaced from Burhanpur by a margin of 5,120 votes to an unbiased candidate, Thakur Surendra Singh.


Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje received the Jhalrapatan seat with a margin of 34,980 votes, thus defeating her rival Congress chief Manvendra Singh, the son of veteran BJP chief Jaswant Singh. Raje and her 5 cupboard colleagues have received their respective constituencies.

Residence Minister Gulab Chand Kataria (Udaipur), Training Minister Vasundev Devnani (Ajmer North), Ladies and Baby Improvement Minister Anita Bhadel (Ajmer South), Parliamentary Affairs Minister Rajendra Rathore (Churu) and Larger Training Minister Kiran Maheshwari (Rajsamand) have retained their respective seats.

Rajasthan Congress chief Sachin Pilot, who contested from the controversial Tonk constituency, acquired 1,09,040 votes. In the meantime his rival Yoonus Khan, who’s the BJP’s sole Muslim candidate, acquired 54,861 votes. Senior Congress chief Ashok Gehlot, who is among the candidates prone to develop into chief minister of Rajasthan, acquired 92,934 votes, whereas his rival candidate Shambhu Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Celebration was in a position to safe 48,880 votes.

Amongst those that misplaced are Water Sources Minister Rampratap (Hanumangarh), Social Justice Minister Arun Chaturvedi (Civil Strains), Industries Minister Rajpal Singh (Jhotwara), Cooperative Minister Ajay Singh (Degana), and Gaupalan Minister Otaram Devasi (Sirohi).

Different ministers who confronted defeat are Minister of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry Prabhu Lal Saini, Minister of Meals and Civil Provide, Client Affairs Baboo Lal Verma, Housing and City Improvement Minister Shrichand Kriplani, and Minister of Business Gajendra Singh Khimsar.


In Mizoram, TJ Lalnuntluanga of MNF was in a position to defeat Congress heavyweight and Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla. He was defeated in each the seats from which he had contested — his house turf Serchip. He additionally misplaced from Champai South constituency. Thanhwala submitted his resignation to Governor Kummanam Rajasekhar after the Congress’ defeat

MNF candidate Lalchhandama Ralte on Tuesday received the Tuivawl seat in Mizoram defeating his nearest Congress rival RL Pianmawia by simply three votes. One other MNF candidate, Lalruatkima, received the Aizawl West-II seat by the very best margin amongst all 40 winners within the new Mizoram Meeting for which elections have been held on November 28. He defeated his Congress rival by 2,720 votes.

In response to an Election Fee official, two different MNF nominees — Lawmawma Tochhawng and C Lalrinsanga — received from Lunglei East and Lunglei West by 72 and 77 votes respectively.


Present chief minister Raman Singh, who was contesting from Rajnandgaon constituency within the state, received with over 37,023 votes. His rival from the Congress get together, Karun Shukla, was trailing with 28,554 votes. Following this, Singh, who has been in energy as chief minister for 3 successive phrases, resigned, and mentioned that he accepts accountability for BJP’s ballot efficiency in Chhattisgarh. He added: “we (get together) will sit and introspect”.

Congress chief Bhupesh Baghel, who is among the chief ministerial candidates in Chhattisgarh, received within the state’s Patan constituency. He acquired over 47,884 votes towards Matital Sahu of the BJP, who received 33,209 votes. Baghel has credited robust get together organisation for the Congress’ spectacular victory within the state.

Vinod Seva Lal Chandrakar of Congress received from Mahasamund meeting seat by 22,700 votes; Congress’ Dwarikadhish Yadav bagged Khallari seat by defeating Monika Dilip Sahu of BJP by 57,000 votes. Kismat Lal Nand of Congress received the Saraipali seat by 53,000 votes; and Devendra Bahadur Singh of Congress received in Basna by a margin of 13,000 votes.

Senior Congress chief TS Singh Deo, who was the chief of opposition in Chhattisgarh’s earlier legislative meeting, received the state meeting elections from Ambikapur constituency.

Key losses within the state embody BJP’s Kedar Kashyap in Narayanpur.


Ok Chandrashekar Rao (KCR), caretaker chief minister and Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief, received in Gajwel with a margin of over 60,000 votes. He was in a position to safe 1,20,608 votes whereas his opponent, Vanteru Pratap Reddy of Congress, may solely get 63,686 votes.

His son KT Rama Rao (KTR) additionally emerged victorious within the state, who defeated Congress’ KK Mahender Reddy in Sircilla constituency with a majority of 1,21,758 votes. Sircilla had been KTR’s stronghold since he first received from there in 2009.

One other notable winner within the state is BJP MLA Raja Singh Lodh, who’s known for his controversial comments. He’s the only real torch-bearer for the BJP within the Meeting, as all different get together candidates misplaced within the 7 December Telangana polls. Singh, recognized in lots of quarters for his “inflammatory” feedback, and who has over 60 circumstances towards him, principally for “hate speeches”, retained his Goshamahal Meeting constituency in Hyderabad.

In the meantime, Congress’ Revanth Reddy suffered a serious loss within the state’s Kodangal constituency. That is anticipated to be a giant blow for the Opposition, as Reddy was a vocal critic of the TRS, and is taken into account unbeatable in his constituency.

With inputs from companies

Source link

Facebook Comments
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time