BJP candidates checklist 2019 for Lok Sabha Election: Narendra Modi to contest from Varanasi, Smriti Irani from Amethi

With simply weeks to go for the Lok Sabha election, the BJP on Thursday launched the primary checklist of candidates that includes political bigwigs together with Prime Minister Narendra Modi, social gathering chief Amit Shah, and Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari and Smriti Irani.

Health Minister JP Nadda on the BJP press convention on Thursday. Twitter/@BJP4India

At a press convention, Union well being minister JP Nadda introduced the names of 184 candidates within the social gathering’s first checklist of candidates. While Modi will once more contest from his Varanasi seat, Amit Shah will combat from Gandhinagar rather than senior chief LK Advani. Home Minister Rajnath Singh will contest from Lucknow, whereas Union highway and transport minister Nitin Gadkari will combat from Nagpur.

The social gathering has fielded Irani from Amethi — from the place sitting MP and Congress president Rahul Gandhi is about to contest. Rahul had defeated Irani from Amethi within the 2014 election.

The BJP has renominated Minister of State (MoS) for External Affairs General VK Singh and MoS for Environment Mahesh Sharma from Ghaziabad and Gautam Buddha Nagar (Noida), respectively.

Other outstanding names on the checklist are Union tourism minister KJ Alphons (Ernakulam), MoS for Home Affairs Kiren Rijiju (Arunachal West), MoS for Shipping Pon Radhakrishnan (Kanyakumari), Sports Minister Rajyavardhan Rathore (Jaipur Rural), Union minister Jitendra Singh (Udhampur), former Mizoram governor Kummanam Rajasekharan (Thiruvananthapuram), Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM) president Poonam Mahajan (Mumbai North Central).

The announcement was made after the social gathering’s central election committee (CEC) met in New Delhi on Thursday. The CEC finalised the candidates after looking for suggestions from various sources, together with the general public, and asking its MPs to furnish particulars of the works they’ve carried out.

The election for 543 parliamentary seats can be held in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May and the counting of votes can be taken up on 23 May. The fundamental Opposition social gathering Congress has to this point launched six lists, revealing the names of 146 candidates.

With inputs from companies

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the most recent evaluation, commentary and information updates, join our WhatsApp providers. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Source link

Facebook Comments
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time