2018 Tony Awards: Sara Bareilles, Josh Groban set to co-host theatre industry's biggest ceremony

This yr’s Tony Awards, the highest honours for theatre within the West, shall be hosted by two musical abilities, Josh Groban and Sara Bareilles. The information was introduced information in a unusual video via Twitter.

Although each Groban and Bareilles grew up doing theatre, they went on to have profitable careers in music. They now return to the stage with Groban making his Broadway debut within the Tony nominated Natasha Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812 and Bareilles making hers in Waitress. Each these performances have fueled notable gross sales enhance and million-dollar-plus weeks for Natasha Pierre & the Nice Comet of their particular person on stage stints as reported by Selection.

Sara Bareilles and Josh Groban. AP/Evan Agostini

The 2 performers shall be collectively internet hosting the Tony Awards, which is but to announce its nominations, because the lower off for eligibility continues to be every week away — 26 April. The ceremony shall be held on 10 June and broadcast on CBS. The present favourites embrace The Band’s Go to together with common Broadway titles like Imply Ladies and Frozen. Nevertheless, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which swept the Olivier Awards in London, is predicted to comb away the competitors as soon as the blockbuster manufacturing opens on 22 April. The soon-to-be open My Honest Woman can also be a robust contender for Broadway honours this yr.

They take over internet hosting duties from Kevin Spacey, the disgraced former Home of Playing cards actor who performed that function on the telecast final yr. Kristin Chenoweth and Alan Cumming had hosted the Tonys collectively in 2015 however their co-hosting gamble had been poorly obtained.

<!– Printed Date: Apr 19, 2018 12:42 PM
| Up to date Date: Apr 19, 2018 12:48 PM


Up to date Date: Apr 19, 2018 12:48 PM


fbq('init', '482038382136514');
fbq('observe', 'PageView');

(operate(d, s, id) {
    var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
    if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
    js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;
    js.src = "http://join.fb.web/en_GB/sdk.js#xfbml=1&amp;model=v2.9&amp;appId=1117108234997285";
    fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(doc, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));


Facebook Comments